embrace the mess

Years back my mom took a painting class
and her tendency was to keep each paint separate+ neat (as if it was still brand new)
when her teacher recognized this tendency she encourage just the opposite
she encouraged making a mess of colors, not pursing perfection, + taking risks

Around the studio she went mixing those virgin paints and colour palettes
for she had embraced the greatness found only in imperfection + mess.


I am learning to embrace the mess…
in art, in community, in life after graduation, in following your dreams


I used to not like getting my hands dirty
or having any amount of sand on my towel at the beach (crazy I know)
I used to not like walking barefoot
or sitting for any length of time with dirt anywhere on me

I used to not like…
but I am learning to embrace the mess
for I am convinced that beauty, greatness, + adventure
lie in what look like chaos, mess, + risk


What about you… how are you embracing the mess?  What have you learned from it?

2 thoughts on “embrace the mess

Let me know what you think...

