Running with Uncertainty

“In eliminating uncertainty, we kill our shot at brilliance.” 

I have been hanging out with Uncertainty for the past week and let me say its been great!  I found out about this book after reading an article from the author on the 99 percent blog.  After reading the article, I knew I had to read the book attached to it, so I bought it online a few hours later.

Needless to say, this book has been amazing.  It has provided me with so many things to research, digest, and think about.  I usually do not read books very fast or entirely but this one made the cut.  In one week, I have devoured 213+ pages of genius.  Genius that has challenged and encouraged me, as I prepare to step into the next steps of the journey after college.  Throughout reading the book, I was constantly updating twitter with quotes and thoughts related to the chapters (you can find these under the hashtag #uncertainty if you wish).  Beyond this, I wanted to share with you a few of the things I am processing as a result of this book.

  • Uncertainty and I are definitely better friends (not best friends but friends none the less).  How close are you and uncertainty?  
  • Its role is important if I really want to pursue dreams.  Its help me discover more about that thing(s) I can’t not do.  What is it that you can’t not do and are you really pursuing that?
  • I now recognize what I can achieve when I harness the strength to run with uncertainty and sit with it long enough to know genius.
  •  What routines, rhythms, and rituals hold you together?  I have begun to ask this question in every area of my life.  Its life altering! 

This is an intentionally small taste of what I learned.  There is much more to come; as this book has sparked other reading, research, ideas, and questions.

If you end up reading the book, I would love to hear what you thought and learned as a result.  

What if we ran with uncertainty,  instead of running from it?

Let me know what you think...

